Skip to Content


C. Stratton Hill, M. D. Lectureship to be Presented June 19

C. Stratton Hill, M. D. Lectureship to be Presented June 19
Portenoy to Discuss Pain Research
M. D. Anderson News Release 05/14/03

Russell Portenoy, M.D., chairman of pain medicine and palliative care at the Beth Israel Medical Center and professor of neurology at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine will present the C. Stratton Hill Biennial Honorary Lectureship on June 19 at The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center.

The lectureship, which honors Hill for his 35-year career at M. D. Anderson, will take place at 5 p.m. at 1515 Holcombe in the Hickey foyer, 11th floor.

Portenoy is past president of the American Pain Society and is currently the secretary of the International Association for the Study of Pain and vice-chair of the American Board of Hospice and Palliative Medicine. He is recognized nationally and internationally as an authority on the opioid treatment of chronic pain, especially in the chemical dependent patient, management of cancer pain and palliative care. Portenoy focuses his research in clinical trials of analgesic drugs, opioid pharmacology, symptom management and quality of life assessment.

Hill, professor emeritus of medicine at M. D. Anderson, joined the faculty in 1963. He established the pain treatment service there in 1981 and served as its first director. A native of Humboldt, Tenn., Hill has been recognized nationally and internationally for improving pain management and end-of-life care for cancer patients.

Hill served on the Texas Cancer Council for 12 years. In 1996, he received the Humanitarian Award from the American Cancer Society, and in 1997 he received the Norman Zinberg Award for achievements in medicine and treatment from the National Drug Policy Foundation. Hill continues to promote education about pain management as an active lecturer at national and international pain symposia.

The lectureship is hosted by Charles S. Cleeland, Ph.D., chair of the Department of Symptom Research at M. D. Anderson. Thomas W. Feeley, M.D., head of the Division of Anesthesiology and Critical Care at M. D. Anderson will give introductory remarks.

The lecture is free of charge and open to healthcare professionals in the greater Houston area. For more information regarding the program, please contact Pam Jones at (713) 745-3470.

The lecture is made possible by educational grants from C. Stratton Hill Endowment donors Purdue Pharma, Berlex Laboratories, Janssen Pharmaceuticals and Ortho Biotech, Inc.


© 2015 The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center