Skip to Content

Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma Facts

Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma is the seventh most common cancer in men and women in the nation. According to the American Cancer Society, about 66,000 new cases of non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma are diagnosed each year in the United States. Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma is slightly more common in white men.

Lymphoma is a general term for cancers that develop in the lymphatic system (the tissues and organs that produce, store and carry white blood cells). Hodgkin’s disease is a type of lymphoma that develops in white blood cells.

Lymphomas that do not start in white blood cells are called non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. They may start in the bone marrow, spleen, thymus or lymph nodes and spread to other parts of the body.

The lymph system carries disease-fighting white blood cells throughout the body. It includes:

Lymph: Fluid that carries lymphocytes, a type of white blood cells, through the body in a network of lymph vessels, which are like tiny veins. Lymph helps fight against infection and cancer.

Lymph nodes: Tiny, bean-shaped masses in the underarm, pelvis, neck, abdomen and groin. They filter lymph and store white blood cells to help the body fight disease.

Spleen: An organ on the left side of the abdomen that makes lymphocytes, stores blood cells and gets rid of old blood cells.

Thymus: Located in the chest, this tiny organ stores lymphocytes.

Tonsils: The are nodes in back of throat that produce lymphocytes.

Bone marrow: This is material in bones that produces blood cells.

Lymphoma anatomical illustration

Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma Types

Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma is divided into three types depending on the type of cells in the cancer. These types are:

  • B-cell, which makes up 85% of Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma cases
  • T-cell
  • NK-cell

Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma is classified also by how quickly it spreads.

Low-grade non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma includes:

  • Marginal zone lymphoma
  • Mucosa-associated lymphoid tissue (MALT) lymphoma
  • Follicular lymphoma
  • Mantle cell lymphoma

Intermediate grade non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma includes:

  • Diffuse large cell lymphoma
  • Primary mediastinal large cell lymphoma
  • Anaplastic large cell lymphoma

High-grade non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma includes:

  • Burkitt’s lymphoma
  • Lymphoblastic lymphoma

Relapsed non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma is disease that comes back after you have been treated for Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma.

Refractory non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma is new or relapsed disease that does not respond to treatment.

Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma Risk Factors

Anything that increases your chance of getting non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma is a risk factor. Although scientists don’t know yet what causes non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma, some factors seem to make you more likely to develop non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. These include:

  • Gender: Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma is slightly more common in men
  • Race: Non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma is slightly more common in Caucasians
  • Living in a farming community. Some studies suggest that certain herbicides and pesticides may play a part in lymphoma, but this has not been proven
  • Bacteria or viruses, including human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), Epstein-Barr virus (EBV), human T-lymphotropic virus (HTLV) and the bacterium Helicobacter pylori
  • Inherited syndromes

Not everyone with risk factors gets non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma. However, if you have risk factors, you should discuss them with your doctor.

In rare cases, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma can be passed down from one generation to the next. Genetic counseling may be right for you. Visit our genetic testing page to learn more.

Clinical Trials

MD Anderson patients have access to clinical trials
offering promising new treatments that cannot be found anywhere else.

Knowledge Center

Find the latest news and information about non-Hodgkin's lymphoma in our Knowledge Center, including blog posts, articles, videos, news releases and more.