Seven volunteers named to MD Anderson Cancer Center Board of Visitors

New members join leaders across the country committed to Making Cancer History®


The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Board of Visitors (BOV), a nonfiduciary, appointed volunteer advisory board, welcomes seven new members:  

  • Don Childress, Atlanta, Georgia: senior managing partner, Childress Klein
  • Roslyn Eckstein, River Ridge, Louisiana: community volunteer
  • Vijay Goradia, The Woodlands, Texas: chairman, Vinmar Group; director, Goradia Capital
  • Ashley Loeffler, Houston, Texas: community volunteer
  • Mary Martha Pickens, Dallas, Texas: senior vice president, private client manager, Bank of America Private Bank
  • Delia Stroud, Houston, Texas: energy policy consultant and retired vice president, Exelon Corporation
  • Cynthia Erickson Zaninovich, Paducah, Kentucky: community volunteer

“These business and community leaders are outstanding additions to the BOV, and we are honored and excited to welcome them as ambassadors of MD Anderson,” said BOV Chair Marsha Shields of San Antonio. “On behalf of my fellow officers and the Executive Committee, we look forward to working together to advance the institution’s mission to end cancer.”

BOV leadership formally recognized the new members, effective Sept. 1 with the beginning of Fiscal Year 2020, and recently appointed Life Member Wayne Gibbens of Middleburg, Virginia, at the board’s Oct. 24 annual meeting.

“With the beginning of each new fiscal year, we anticipate the privilege of welcoming new BOV members who bring unique talents and expertise to this dynamic board,” said Peter WT Pisters, M.D., president of MD Anderson. “Our executive leadership team is grateful for their support and for the renewed commitment of the entire membership to our efforts in Making Cancer History®.”

BOV members serve as national and international ambassadors for MD Anderson’s world-class cancer research, patient care, education and prevention initiatives.

Joining Shields as BOV officers for FY20 are Don Evans, chair-elect, of Midland; Clarence Cazalot Jr., vice chair, of Houston; and Jim Mulva, immediate past chair, of Austin. This year’s committee and advisory group chairs include:

  • Mark Albers, The Woodlands, Texas: Clinical Operations and Competitive Assessment Advisory Group
  • Clarence Cazalot Jr., Houston, Texas: Membership and Board Development Committee
  • Gregg Falgout, Houston, Texas: Events Committee
  • Wayne Gibbens, Middleburg, Virginia: Governmental Relations Committee
  • Gary Gibson, Houston, Texas: Cancer Control Advisory Group
  • Maureen Hackett, Houston, Texas: MD Anderson Cancer Center Network Advisory Group
  • Tom Johnson, Atlanta, Georgia: Public Affairs Committee
  • Pierre Lapeyre Jr., New York, New York: Bylaws Committee
  • Linda Mays McCaul, Austin, Texas: Children’s Cancer Hospital Advisory Group
  • Don Woo, Houston, Texas: Development Committee

- 30 -

From left: Don Childress, Cynthia Erickson Zaninovich, Delia Stroud, Ashley Loeffler, Mary Martha Pickens. Not pictured: Roslyn Eckstein, Vijay Goradia. Photo by F. Carter Smith