MD Anderson announces fifth annual class of Andrew Sabin Family Fellows

Early-career researchers represent innovation, commitment to Making Cancer History

The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center has named 10 early-career faculty members to the 2020 class of Andrew Sabin Family Fellows. Established in 2015 through a generous $30 million endowment, the fellowship program aims to encourage creativity, innovation and impactful cancer research in the categories of basic science, clinical, physician-scientist, and population and quantitative science. Andrew Sabin, of East Hampton, New York, has been a member of the MD Anderson Cancer Center Board of Visitors since 2005.

The 2020 awardees are:

• Caroline Chung, M.D., associate professor, Radiation Oncology

• Carrie Daniel-MacDougall, Ph.D., associate professor, Epidemiology

• Michael Green, Ph.D., associate professor, Lymphoma/Myeloma-Research

• Traver Hart, Ph.D., assistant professor, Bioinformatics and Computational Biology

• Jian Hu, Ph.D., associate professor, Cancer Biology

• Kathrin Milbury, Ph.D., associate professor, Behavioral Science

• Nicolas Palaskas, M.D., assistant professor, Cardiology

• Christine Parseghian, M.D., assistant professor, Gastrointestinal Medical Oncology

• Koichi Takahashi, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor, Leukemia

• Chad Tang, M.D., assistant professor, Radiation Oncology   

Selections were based on a competitive external review process. Each researcher will receive $100,000 over two years. 

“We are grateful for the generosity of the Andrew Sabin Family Foundation in helping MD Anderson recruit and retain the highest caliber of young researchers through this fellowship program,” said Peter WT Pisters, M.D., president of MD Anderson. “On behalf of my colleagues and the patients we serve, congratulations to these outstanding individuals whose innovative research is sure to make a significant impact on our mission to end cancer.”