Skip to Content


Texas Business Women Honors Professor’s Outstanding Achievements

Promise -

From left, Dihua Yu, M.D., Ph.D., professor of molecular and cellular oncology, pauses after receiving this year’s TBW Award with Aysegul A. Sahin, M.D., professor of pathology; Mien-Chie Hung, Ph.D., chair of the Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology; and Constance Albarracin, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor of pathology. Photo by Barry Smith.

Since joining the MD Anderson team in 1991, Dihua Yu, M.D., Ph.D., professor of molecular and cellular oncology, has devoted her time and research to fighting breast cancer and improving the lives of breast cancer patients. In honor of her internationally recognized efforts, which have had a profound impact on cancer treatment, Yu has received the 2010 Texas Business Women’s Award.

Yu has served as the director of the Cancer Biology Program at The University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences at Houston and has published more than 80 articles in peer-reviewed journals.

“The Texas Business Women organization is honored that Dr. Yu was chosen to receive the award this year,” says Beth Johnson, president of Texas Business Women (TBW).

Formerly known as The Texas Federation of Business and Professional Women’s Clubs, TBW was instrumental in encouraging Texas lawmakers to establish MD Anderson in 1941. The organization’s continued support also prompted the state legislature to fund atomic energy-radiological facilities in 1949.

Since 1974, TBW has given more than $1.2 million to MD Anderson.

Promise - Summer 2010:

© 2015 The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center