Tuition and Fees
2013 - 2014 Estimated tuition costs
|Based on 15 Semester Credit Hours||Texas Resident||Non-Resident|
|Tuition and Fees||$1,550.00||$6,810.00|
|Books and Supplies||$500.00*||$500.00|
*The cost of books and supplies varies by program.
All students are required to have a laptop computer, and must be covered by health insurance, and these expenses are not included in the table above.
Tuition for Texas residents is governed by the Texas Education Code. Tuition and Fees information is at the posted at the Office of the Registrar of the UT Health Science Center-Houston;
As a condition of enrollment, all required tuition, fees and deposits are due in full or according to the scheduled installment plan listed below. Payment may be made in cash, check, credit card (MC or VISA only) or money order payable to The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston.
Students may pay their tuition and fees in a single payment or in three equal installments according to the following schedule:
First payment: One-half payment of tuition and fees prior to first week of the semester
Second payment: One-quarter payment prior to the start of the sixth class week
Third payment: The final one-quarter payment before the beginning of the 11th class week
The institution charges a $15 incidental fee for use of the installment plan each semester. A $10 charge will be assessed for any subsequent delinquent payment.
A student who fails to make full payment of tuition and fees, including any late fees assessed, to the university when the payments are due is subject to one or more of the following actions at the university's option:
- Bar against readmission to the institution
- Withholding of grades, degree and official transcript
- All penalties and actions authorized by law
Student Financial Responsibility
Students are responsible for fulfilling all financial obligations to MD Anderson Cancer Center. Students who do not meet their financial responsibilities are subject to withdrawal from school, referral to collection and credit agencies and the withholding of official transcripts.
Tuition and Fees Exceptions
Students under 21 years of age who are children of firefighters or peace officers who died or were disabled in the line of duty are exempt from tuition. Individuals are not considered disabled unless they furnish proof of disability.
Tuition exemption also applies to students who are dependent children of any person who is a domiciliary of Texas on active duty as a member of the United States Armed Forces and who, at the time of registration, is classified by the Department of Defense as a prisoner of war or missing in action.
Students seeking exemption who were citizens of Texas at the time they entered the United States Armed Forces and have resided in Texas for at least six months before the registration date may be eligible to pay instate tuition in accordance with the provisions of Section 54.058 (d), Texas Education Code. For more information contact the Registrar's Office. See also the Residency section of the Registration policy.
Withdrawal and Refund
Students who withdraw from a program will be refunded a percentage of tuition and mandatory fees according to the following schedule.
During the first five class days: 80%
During the second five class days: 70%
During the third five class days: 50%
During the fourth five class days: 25%
After the fifth five class days: None
After the completion of the eighth week of classes, no student will be allowed to withdraw from a course; therefore, the grade earned will become part of the official transcript.
Refunds will be processed following withdrawal, and any refund will be mailed to the student. Tuition and fees paid by sponsors, donors or scholarships will be refunded to the source.