Skip to Content

Faculty

Faculty in the Molecular Carcinogenesis Graduate Program are working to understand the basic biological mechanisms that underlie cancer formation, identify new molecular targets for cancer prevention and therapy, identify new markers for early cancer detection and identify genetic and epigenetic determinants of cancer susceptibility. The ultimate goal of these research efforts is to provide new strategies for the development of more effective and more personalized cancer therapies. 

Students in the Molecular Carcinogenesis Graduate Program must complete three 10-week tutorial laboratory rotations under the supervision of three different faculty members. The rotations serve the dual role of introducing students to a variety of research environments and allowing them the opportunity to select an advisor to supervise their future dissertation research. If a student has extensive previous research experience or a Master's degree, the student may request to waive the third rotation. The program currently includes 18 faculty members from three departments.

 

MemberContactWeb page
C. Marcelo Aldaz, M.D., Ph.D.maaldaz@mdanderson.org 
Mark Bedford, Ph.D.mtbedford@mdanderson.orgBedford Lab
Shawn Bratton, Ph.D.sbratton@mdanderson.orgBratton Lab
Fernando Benavides, D.V.M., Ph.D.fbenavid@mdanderson.org 
Taiping Chen, Ph.D.tchen2@mdanderson.orgChen Lab
Lezlee Coghlan, D.V.M., M.S.lcoghlan@mdanderson.org 
Francesca Cole, Ph.D.fcole@mdanderson.orgCole Lab
Sharon Dent, Ph.D.sroth@mdanderson.orgDent Lab
David Johnson, Ph.D.djohnson@mdanderson.orgJohnson Lab
Kevin McBride, Ph.D.kmcbride@mdanderson.orgMcBride Lab
Timothy McDonnell, Ph.D.tmcdonne@mdacc.tmc.edu 
David Mitchell, Ph.D.dmitchel@mdanderson.org 
Ellen Richie, Ph.D.erichie@mdanderson.org 
Jianjun Shen, Ph.D.jianshen@mdanderson.org 
Xuetong Shen, Ph.D.xshen@mdanderson.orgShen Lab
Dean Tang, Ph.D.dtang@mdanderson.orgTang Lab
Cheryl Walker, Ph.D.chwalker@mdanderson.org 
Richard Wood, Ph.D.rwood@mdanderson.orgWood Lab

Faculty Spotlight: Francesca Cole, Ph.D.

The Cole lab studies homologous recombination (HR) during mouse meiosis. HR is critical to proper DNA repair. Improper repair can lead to mutation, loss of genome integrity and tumorigenesis. Dr. Cole has developed a new assay (mouse tetrad analysis) to better understand the mechanisms underlying HR and how repair proteins cooperate to effect repair in vivo.
Learn more about Dr. Cole's research.


© 2014 The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center