Skip to Content

How You Can Help

MD Anderson Blood Bank

DonateBlood_Header

Blood Donation is important to all our patients here at MD Anderson. Thank you so much for your support and keep donating. Call for appointments or questions (713) 792-7777.

The MD Anderson Cancer Center Blood Bank is a leader in the field of transfusion medicine. Since the early 1960s, our blood bank has served the needs of cancer patients, donors and the community by providing exceptional blood services. Our milestones range from pioneering the invention of the blood cell separator, the transfusion of white blood cells into patients with low blood cell counts to prevent infection and the transfusion of platelets into patients to prevent bleeding, which is now the standard of therapy worldwide. 

The Blood Bank has the largest transfusion center in the country. MD Anderson cancer patients require approximately 200 units of red blood cells and 600 units of platelets every day. This is why donors are the most important part of the process. As new treatments are developed, and new technologies discovered, the need for blood donations has never been greater. Giving blood and platelets provides hope for cancer patients who depend on the support of their family and friends and on the generosity of donors just like you.

Our vision is to continue on the cutting edge of technology; with highly trained staff and state-of-the-art equipment.

Be a hero - Donate blood to our blood bank today and save 3 lives!

facebook iconConnect With Us!

SUMMER BLOOD DRIVES 

July


Main Building, Floor 2, Donor Wall in The Park

  • Monday, July 21, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.
  • Friday, July 25, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.
  • Tuesday, July 29, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.
  • Wednesday, July 30, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.
  • Thursday, July 31, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Mays Clinic, West Lobby, Floor 2, near elevator P

  • Wednesday, July 23, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.

August 

Main Building, Floor 2, Donor Wall in The Park

  • Friday, August 1, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.
  • Monday, August 18, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m. * National Bone Marrow Registry on site
  • Tuesday, August 19, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.
  • Wednesday, August 20, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m. * National Bone Marrow Registry on site
  • Thursday, August 21, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.
  • Friday, August 22, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 30, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.
  • Sunday, August 31, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.

South Campus Research Building 1 (SCRB 1), Lobby

  • Tuesday, August 5, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m

Mid Campus Building 1 (1 MC), Floor 3 Lobby

  • Wednesday, August 13, 9 a.m. - 3 p.m.

Fannin Bank Building (FBB) (donor coach parked behind building)

  • Thursday, August 14, 9 a.m. - 3 p.m.

Mays Clinic, West Lobby, Floor 2, near elevator P

  • Wednesday, August 26, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Pickens Academic Tower (PAT), Floor 3 Conference Rooms 2 and 7 (FCT3.4165, FCT 3.4166)

  • Tuesday, August 26, 9 a.m. - 3 p.m.

Pickens Academic Tower (PAT), Floor 3 Conference Rooms 1 and 8 (FCT3.4167, FCT 3.4168)

  • Thursday, August 28, 9 a.m. – 3 p.m.M

© 2014 The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center