Skip to Content

News & Awards

Genetics Hall of Fame

Richard R. Behringer, Ph.D.
Shawlot W, Behringer RR. Requirement for Lim1 in head-organizer function. Nature 374(6521):425-430, 3/30/1995. PMID: 7700351.

Benoit DeCrombrugghe, M.D.
Nakashima K, Zhou X, Kunkel G, Zhang Z, Deng JM, Behringer RR, de Crombrugghe B. The novel zinc finger-containing transcription factor osterix is required for osteoblast differentiation and bone formation. Cell 108:17-29, 1/2002. PMID: 11792318.


16th Annual Award Recipient of the AACR-Women in Cancer Research Charlotte Friend Memorial Lectureship

Guillermina Lozano, Ph.D., Professor and Chair

This lecture award gives recognition to an outstanding scientist who has made meritorious contributions to the field of cancer research and who has, through leadership, furthered the advancement of women in science.

Among first inaugurated to American Association for Cancer Research Academy

Louise C. Strong, M.D., Professor

This prestigious honor recognizes scientists whose contributions to the cancer field have had an extraordinary impact.


Recipient of the Nadia's Gift Foundation Innovator Award by the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation

Nicholas Navin, Ph.D., Assistant Professor

Innovation awards are given for "cancer research by exceptionally creative thinkers with “high-risk/high-reward” ideas".
Nadia’s Gift Foundation & Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovator Award Interview with Dr. Navin at MD Anderson.

Winner of the 2012 Outstanding Research Publication Award

James G. Jackson, Ph.D., Instructor
- Mentor: Guillermina Lozano, Ph.D.

“p53-Mediated Senescence Impairs the Apoptotic Response to Chemotherapy and Clinical Outcome in Breast Cancer” Cancer Cell 21, 793-806, June 12, 2012

© 2014 The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center