Skip to Content

Division of Internal Medicine

Division faculty and staff
Seated (left to right): Robert, Gagel, Dimitrios Kontoyiannis, Joel Helmke, Issam Raad, Steven I. Sherman; Standing (left to right): Edward T.H. Yeh, Charles Cleeland, Knox Todd, Ellen Manzullo, Burton Dickey, Lopa Mishra, Ronald Rapini, Carmen Escalante (Note: Williams Atkinson, IV, is currently Division Administrator Ad Interim.)

Our mission is to provide a broad spectrum of research-driven internal medicine care for patients with cancer, including aspects of prevention, treatment and survivorship. 

Our vision is to continually expand our lead as a research-driven internal medicine division in a comprehensive cancer care center.

The Division of Internal Medicine comprises nine departments:

It also includes three sections:

  • Benign Hematology
  • Nephrology
  • Rheumatology

In addition to providing clinical excellence in their division practices, faculty members have developed broad-based research programs in their respective subspecialty areas.

Grand Rounds and Conferences

Friday, Oct. 17, Pickens Academic Tower, Floor 3, Rooms 1,2,7,8
Quality Improvement Presentations by the Departments of Symptom Research,
Pulmonary Medicine and Dermatology

Lori Williams, Ph.D., Symptom Research; Lara Bashoura, M.D., Pulmonary Medicine; 
and Susan Chon, M.D., Dermatology


Friday, Oct. 24, Pickens Academic Tower, Floor 3, Rooms 1,2,7,8
Ebola: Planning and Preparedness

Roy Chemaly, M.D., medical director, Infection Control; and professor, 
Infectious Diseases, Infection Control and Employee Health


Friday, Oct. 31, Pickens Academic Tower, Floor 3, Rooms
Minimal Invasive Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Surgery

Claudius Conrad, Ph.D., M.D., assistant professor, Surgical Oncology

Past Events

Mechanisms of Symptoms of Multiple Myeloma and Its Therapy (requires Adobe Flash Player)
Charles Cleeland, Ph.D., Bharat Aggarwal, Ph.D., Patrick Dougherty, Ph.D., Loretta Williams, Ph.D., James Reuben, Ph.D., and Xin Shelley Wang, Ph.D.
August 7, 2009

© 2014 The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center