Diagnostic Imaging Fellowship

About the Program

The Division of Diagnostic Imaging is comprised of four departments: Department of Diagnostic Radiology, Department of Experimental Diagnostic Imaging, Department of Imaging Physics and Department of Nuclear Medicine.

The division provides a full range of state-of-the-art diagnostic imaging and therapeutic services in the various imaging modalities: Breast Imaging, Clinical Nuclear Medicine, Computerized and Digital Radiography, CT, Interventional Radiology, MRI, Neuro-Interventional Radiology, PET, PET/CT and Ultrasound.

A total of 922 employees occupy an area of 182,180 square feet of the Main Building, primarily on the 3rd floor, and 40% of the North Building of the Mays Clinic on floors 2, 4, 5, 6 and 7.

There are 84 physicians in the Division of Diagnostic Imaging, 39 basic scientists at the Ph.D. level distributed between the four departments and five medical physicists. The division also supports active programs in basic and clinical research within the division and across the institution.

The division support team includes Decision Support, the Image Library, Medical Transcription, Nursing and Patient Reception Services.

Radiologic technologists and nursing staff are available 24 hours a day providing routine and emergent services utilizing both in-house and on-call schedules.

The division currently serves as a clinical teaching site for UT Galveston and Houston Community College for CT, MRI, Nuclear Medicine, Radiologic Technology and Ultrasound Technologist training programs. The School of Health Sciences Bachelors of Science Program in Diagnostic Imaging opened in the fall of 2005. The Diagnostic Imaging program is designed to accommodate students seeking a Bachelors of Science degree and initial certification in Radiologic Technology, or students who have completed an accredited program in Radiologic Technology, with acceptable transfer of credits and hold certification through the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) or equivalent certification agencies.

A resident and fellowship program is operated in conjunction with The University of Texas Medical School. During each rotation there are usually 20 residents/ fellows assigned to the division. The Department of Imaging Physics has a CAMPEP-accredited Clinical Residency Program in Imaging Physics, and is part of the UT Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program in Medical Physics.

Major clinical equipment in the Main Building includes 13 MRI units (12 clinical operations and one research unit), six CT scanners, three interventional angiography suites, two interventional CT units (16-slice and 20-slice), vascular/ interventional suites, eight ultrasound units (three general ultrasound and five neuro-interventional ultrasound), four nuclear medicine gamma cameras, one PET scanner, two PET/CT scanners, 11 dedicated digital chest units, 10 portable x-ray units, eight portable fluoroscopy surgical units, four AC5000s for computerized radiology (CR), three Smart-CRs for CR, two Clearview Readers, one mammo room, one breast ultrasound room and 15 R/F diagnostic units.