Nicholas Navin Laboratory

Welcome to the Navin laboratory at MD Anderson Cancer Center. We are a cancer genomics and computational biology research lab. Our laboratory has pioneered the development of single cell sequencing technologies.  We apply these tools to study complex biological processes that occur in human cancers including transformation, clonal evolution, invasion, metastasis and chemoresistance evolution.  These processes have previously been difficult to study with genomic technologies using bulk tissues.

Our group is also actively developing novel computational and statistical methods for analyzing large-scale single cell sequencing datasets for variant detection.  Our primary focus is on breast cancer patients, however we are also involved in collaborations in colon cancer, prostate cancer and AML.  At MD Anderson we are uniquely positioned to translate our single cell sequencing methods into the clinic, where we expect that they will have major applications in early detection, non-invasive monitoring, diagnostics monitoring and guiding targeted therapy. Through these clinical application we that our research will have a major impact on reducing morbidity and improving the quality of life for cancer patients.  

Funding Support

We are very grateful for enabling our research program through your generous support!

  • Agilent University Relations Grant
  • Alice Kleberg Reynolds Foundation
  • Andrew Sabin Family Fellowship
  • Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award
  • Lefkofsky Family Foundation
  • MD Anderson Center for Genetics & Genomics
  • Nadia’s Gift Foundation
  • National Cancer Institute (NCI)
  • National Institute of Health (NIH)
  • T.C. Hsu Award

Dr. Navin's Awards

2016  Andrew Sabin Family Fellowship
2015  AAAS Wachtel Prize for Young Scientists
2014  Faculty Educator Award
2013  Wilson Stone Memorial Award
2013  T.C. Hsu Award for Young Investigators
2012  Damon Runyon-Rachleff Innovation Award
2012 Nadia’s Gift Foundation
2010  Young Investigator Award - Genome Technology Magazine
2010  Abraham’s Award
2009  T32 Fellowship NCI
2009  King & Miller Fellowship
2005  Lindsey-Goldberg Fellowship