The Division of Internal Medicine houses many world-renowned experts in medical care of oncology patients. What may not be as evident are its robust research operation and an appealing, stimulating environment for multifaceted quality research. 

Several researchers, spread among the nine departments of the division, are making significant discoveries that translate to advancement in the care and quality of life of our cancer patients. For more information, refer to the Division of Internal Medicine Research Services brochure

Research Committee

The Division of Internal Medicine Research Committee is charged with:

  • Facilitating cross-divisional research collaborations
  • Organizing a Divisional Research Retreat
  • Identifying research-related issues across the Division of Internal Medicine for the purposes of communication, resolution, implementation and evaluation
  • Reviewing and recommending research-related equipment requests, including annual capital equipment planning
  • Overseeing the development and implementation of the divisional research equipment replacement plan when funding is identified
  • Participating in the development of research-related portions of the division's strategic and annual operating plans
  • Identifying and addressing issues related to faculty and trainee educational needs, the research process, and sponsored programs and activities

Samuel Shelburne, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor, Infectious Diseases, Infection Control and Employee Health, is committee chair. David Ost, M.D., associate professor, Pulmonary Medicine, is the committee deputy chair. 

Distinguished Paper Award

The Internal Medicine Distinguished Paper Award was established to identify quality research in the division. The project was initiated under the leadership of Deputy Division Head -- Research Dimitrios Kontoyiannis, M.D., and the oversight of the Research Committee. Articles authored by division faculty with an impact factor of six or above are identified semi-annually in a processed established by a librarian with the Research Medical Library. Dr. Kontoyiannis trims the field down to five to ten articles, which are then scrutinized by a five-member faculty selection committee that ultimately determines two winners, one in basic research and one in clinical research. The committee scores papers on originality, readability, broad appeal, technical aspects and translational value.


Cyrus Scholar Award Competition

The Michael and Mariet Cyrus Research Fund, established in 2005, promotes the development of basic and clinical research skills in internal medicine. Thanks to the generosity of the Cyrus family, two awards are given each year -- a Cyrus Scholar Award for Outstanding Basic Research, and a James S. and Suzanne Cyrus Scholar Award for Outstanding Clinical Research. Each winner receives $15,000 ($5,000 each for three years).

Grand Rounds and Conferences

  • Friday, May 6, Pickens Tower, Floor 3, Rooms 1,2,7,8
    Dermatologic Infections and Infestations
    Adrienne Choksi, M.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Dermatology
  • Friday, May 13, Pickens Tower, Floor 3, Rooms 1,2,7,8
    The State of Cardiology and Cardiovascular Care in 2016:
    What does the Future Hold?

    William Zoghbi, M.D., Chairman, Department of Cardiology, Houston
    Methodist DeBakey Heart and Vascular Center
  • Friday, May 20, Pickens Tower, Floor 3, Rooms 1,2,7,8
    Legal and Risk Management Issues in the Practice of Internal Medicine

    Holly Rumbaugh, J.D., Managing Legal Officer, and Kate Kraycirik, Risk Manager,
    Legal Services

Past Events

Mechanisms of Symptoms of Multiple Myeloma and Its Therapy (requires Adobe Flash Player)
Charles Cleeland, Ph.D., Bharat Aggarwal, Ph.D., Patrick Dougherty, Ph.D., Loretta Williams, Ph.D., James Reuben, Ph.D., and Xin Shelley Wang, Ph.D.
August 7, 2009