About Us

The Division of Anesthesiology & Critical Care was formed in 1997, combining the departments of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine with Critical Care. In 2009, a third department was formed from the Section of Pain Medicine and the division is now composed of three departments: Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine, Critical Care and Pain Medicine.

The division and its departments have developed extensive teaching programs in anesthesiology, critical care and cancer pain management. Currently, we train anesthesia residents from The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston, The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, Baylor College of Medicine, the United States Air Force and the Tulane University School of Medicine.

In Critical Care, we train residents and students from The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston and Baylor College of Medicine. We have an ACGME-approved fellowship training program in pain management.

The division is composed of 117 faculty members whose primary medical specialties include anesthesiology, pulmonary medicine, physical medicine and rehabilitation, neurology and psychology. There are over 230 support staff including nurses, respiratory therapists, technical and administrative staff.