Skip to Content


Appreciating Volunteers

Volunteer Voice - Summer 2007


Former volunteer coordinator Lou Hilley and volunteers Joan Cox and Donna Weisser attended the annual VEPS luncheon, which featured Eugenie Kleinerman, M.D., head of the Children’s Hospital and the Division of Pediatrics at M. D. Anderson, as the keynote speaker.

Steve Stuyck, vice president for Public Affairs, greets volunteers Mary Harrison and Roberta Torn at the Recognition Luncheon for daytime volunteers. The luncheon, given in appreciation of the M. D. Anderson volunteers for their gifts of caring, resources and time, also featured a preview of a new video, “Beyond Courage,” created for Patient Advocacy.

Volunteers from the Anderson Network Hospitality Centers were recognized as the winners of the 2007 Ainsworth Award at the Daytime Recognition Luncheon. Pictured (L to R) are Janice Bordovsky, Pat McWaters, Tom Ligh, Roy Coulter, Dianne Gaul and Elvie Chambers, six of the 50 volunteers currently working in the Hospitality Centers.

Evening volunteers celebrated a year of volunteering at the annual recognition reception at Masraff’s Restaurant. Juan Jimenez, Lakshmi Reddy, Sara D’Agostino and Brandi Hartsell were among those attending.

© 2015 The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center