Skip to Content


Welcome, new BOV members

Advisory board adds community leaders from across the nation

By Sarah Watson

Since its inception in 1957, the MD Anderson Cancer Center Board of Visitors (BOV) has played a significant role in the institution’s mission to eradicate cancer by raising funds, awareness and support. The volunteer board welcomed 16 new members at its annual business meeting in October:

  • Durga D. Agrawal, Ph.D., Houston
  • Lee Barberito, Covington, La.
  • George ‘Alex’ Bernhardt Sr., Lenoir, N.C.
  • William R. ‘Bill’ Bush, Chicago, Ill.
  • David A. Cockrell, Houston
  • Alfred L. (‘Al’) Deaton III, Houston
  • Rosalind (‘Roz’) Redfern Grover, Midland
  • The Honorable Kay Bailey Hutchison, Dallas
  • Jed R. Manocherian, New York, N.Y.
  • Martha W. Murphy, El Dorado, Ark.
  • Leslie Rainbolt-Forbes, M.D., Oklahoma City, Okla.
  • Ashley S. Rankin, Dallas
  • Robert C. Robbins, M.D., Houston
  • Ida Clement ‘Weisie’ Steen, San Antonio
  • Rabbi Alvin M. Sugarman, Ph.D., Atlanta, Ga.
  • Sam L. Susser, Corpus Christi

“I’m proud to welcome this outstanding group of new members, each of whom brings a wealth of talent and expertise,” says BOV chair Harry Longwell, of Dallas. “BOV members serve as ambassadors in their home states and contribute immeasurably to the success of the institution’s initiatives.”


  • Durga D. Agrawal, Ph.D., P.E.

    Houston, Texas

  • Lee Barberito

    Covington, La.

  • G. Alex Bernhardt, Sr.

    Lenoir, N.C.

  • William R. Bush

    Chicago, Ill.

  • David A. Cockrell

    Houston, Texas

  • Alfred L. Deaton III

    Houston, Texas

  • Rosalind Redfern Grover

    Midland, Texas

  • The Honorable Kay Bailey Hutchison

    Former United States Senator

    Dallas, Texas

  • Martha W. Murphy

    El Dorado, Ark.

  • Leslie Rainbolt-Forbes, M.D.

    Oklahoma City, Okla.

  • Ashley S. Rankin

    Dallas, Texas

  • Robert C. Robbins, M.D.

    Houston, Texas

  • Ida Clement Steen

    San Antonio, Texas

  • Rabbi Alvin M. Sugarman, Ph.D.

    Atlanta, Ga.

  • Sam L. Susser

    Corpus Christi, Texas

  • Not pictured: Jed R. Manocherian

    New York City, N.Y.

BOV officers for Fiscal Year 2014 are:

  • Chair ― Harry Longwell, Dallas
  • Chair Elect ― Melvyn Klein, Corpus Christi
  • Vice Chair ― James Mulva, Houston
  • Immediate Past Chair ― Nancy Loeffler, San Antonio
  • MD Anderson President ― Ron DePinho, M.D.

Make a difference

Your gift to MD Anderson makes a difference in the lives of cancer patients by supporting innovative patient care, research, education and prevention programs. You can Donate Now or learn more at myGiving to MD Anderson.

© 2015 The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center