Skip to Content


Susan G. Komen bestows highest honor for breast cancer research

Gordon Mills receives award, delivers keynote at annual symposium

Promise -

Gordon Mills receives award, delivers keynote at annual symposium

 Gordon Mills, M.D., Ph.D.

Gordon Mills, M.D., Ph.D., professor and chair of Systems Biology at MD Anderson, received the 2013 Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction in Basic Sciences at the 36th annual CTRC-AACR San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium in December. The award recognizes Mills’ extensive efforts to understand the molecular biology and pathology of breast cancer in nearly three decades as a physician-scientist.  

“This honor acknowledges my team’s contributions to understanding the processes driving breast cancer,” says Mills, who co-directs the Sheikh Khalifa Bin Zayed Al Nahyan Institute for Personalized Cancer Therapy and the Robert J. Kleberg, Jr. and Helen C. Kleberg Center for Molecular Markers.

Susan G. Komen established the award in 1992 to recognize pioneering work in clinical and basic science breast cancer research and treatment. MD Anderson’s Gabriel Hortobagyi, M.D., Breast Medical Oncology, is a past recipient of the award.

© 2015 The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center