Skip to Content


Top Projects Honored at ‘Being the Best’ Dinner

CS&E News -

Presentation of the top project awards highlighted the second annual awards and recognition dinner for the Clinical Safety and Effectiveness Course.

Dr. Kenneth Shine, M.D., executive vice chancellor for health affairs for The University of Texas System, was keynote speaker for the “Being the Best” celebration, held September 7, 2007, at Hotel Zaza. Other speakers at the event that honored the 89 FY07 graduates, as well as program alumni, included MD Anderson President John Mendelsohn, M.D., and Thomas Burke, M.D., executive vice president and physician-in-chief.

The top three projects submitted received the Sharon K. Martin Award for Performance Improvement Excellence. The award is named in honor of Martin is the immediate past vice president for process improvement at the cancer center. The CS&E 2007 project award winners included:

First Place

Antimicrobial Stewardship Project in the Intensive Care Unit (ICU)
Javier A. Adachi, M.D., and Cheryl A. Perego, M.T.(ASCP), M.P.H., C.I.C.

Second Place

Improving Timeliness of First IV Dose Administration with Targeted Medication Process Interventions
Carol Kimball, M.P.H., R.P.H., Virginia Gonzalez, C.I.C., Sally McGee, M.S., R.N., and JoAnn Mick, Ph.D., M.B.A.

Third Place

Compliance and Documentation with Established Pneumonia Indicators
Carmen E. Gonzalez, M.D., FACP, Kenneth V. Rolston, M.D., Tami Johnson, Pharm.D., BCNSP

Garrett L. Walsh, M.D., was winner of a new award for the outstanding lecturer for the CS&E Course. He received the Brent C. James, M.D., Award for Outstanding Lecturer of the Clinical Safety & Effectiveness Course. The award honors James, a renowned performance improvement lecturer.

© 2015 The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center