Skip to Content

Medical Physics Graduate Students

M.S. in Medical Physics Program

Katherine Dextraze

Katherine Dextraze
KLDextraze@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2011, Nuclear and Radiological Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology

Project: Semi-Automated Image Registration for Real-Time Monitoring of MRI Guided Cryoablation and Prediction of Tissue Damage for Renal Tumors
Advisor: R. Jason Stafford, PhD
Career Goal: Clinical Practice

Ming-Jung “Mindy” Hsieh

Ming-Jung “Mindy” Hsieh
mhsieh1@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2012 Radiological Health Science, Purdue University

Project: 1st Year Student
Advisor: To Be Determined
Career Goal: Clinical Practice

Jennifer “Sierra” Irwin

Jennifer “Sierra” Irwin
jsirwin@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2007, Physics, University of Texas- Austin

Project: 1st Year Student
Advisor: To Be Determined
Career Goal: Clinical Practice

Dana Lewis

Dana Lewis
DLewis2@mdanderson.org
B.S., Physics, Louisiana State University

Project: 1st Year Student
Advisor: To Be Determined
Career Goal: Clinical Practice

Christopher Pham Christopher Pham
CPham1@mdanderson.org
BS, 2010, Physics,  University of California – Berkeley

Project: To Be Determined
Advisor: David F. Followill, PhD
Career Goal: Clinical Medical Physics
John Matthew Wait
JMWait@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2011, Physics, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill

Project: To Be Determined
Advisor: S. Cheenu Kappadath, PhD
Career Goal: Clinical Practice

Ph.D. in Medical Physics Program

Hua Ai
HAi@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2008, Physics, Peking University

Project: Thoracic with PET/MR
Advisor:
Tinsu Pan, PhD
Career Goal: Academic Medical Physics
Ryan BoscaRyan Bosca
Rjbosca@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2007, Physics, University of North Texas
B.S., 2007, Mathematics, University of North Texas
M.S., 2008, Physics, University of North Texas

Project: Magnetic Resonance Imaging Assessment of Radiation Therapy Response
Advisor: Edward F. Jackson, PhD 
Career Goal: Academic Medical Physics
Lawrence Bronk
lbronk@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2008, Physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
M.S., 2009 Physics, University of Texas - Austin

Project:  Nanoscaffold Enhancement of Proton Therapy
Advisor:  Renata Pasqualini, PhD
Career Goal: Academic Medical Physics
Mitchell Carroll
mcarroll@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2007, Physics, Furman University
M.S., 2010, Nuclear Engineering, Texas A&M University

Project: Verify Presage Clinical Application in Proton Therapy QA and an Alternative to 2D Options
Advisor:
Geoffrey Ibbott, PhD
Career Goal:  Academic Medical Physics
Joey Cheung
jpcheung@mdanderson.org
B.A., 2008, Physics, University of California - Berkeley

Project: Image-guided Adaptive Proton Therapy Without Replanning
Advisor:  Laurence Edward Court, PhD
Career Goal: Academic Medical Physics
Jongmin Cho
jcho2@mdanderson.org
B.E,, 1996, Electrical Engineering, Inha University
M.S., 1998, Physics, Seoul University
M.S., 2004, Physics, University of British Columbia

Project: PET Imaging for Proton Dose Deposition and Range Verification
Advisor: Geoffrey Ibbott, PhD
Career Goal: Clinical/Academic Medical Physics
 

Gye Won "Diane" Choi
gchoi@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2013 Rice University

Project: 1st Year Student
Advisor: Richard E. Wendt, III, PhD
Career Goal:

Samuel Fahrenholtz
sjfahrenholtz@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2009, Kansas State University

Project:  A Computational Paradigm to Infer Constitutive Values and Perform Predictive Simulation for Magnetic Resonance-Guided Laser Induced Thermal Therapy
Advisor: R. Jason Stafford, PhD
Career Goal: Clinical and Academic Medical Physics
Austin Faught
amfaught@mdanderson.org
B.A., 2009, Physics, Kenyon College

Project: Benchmarking and Implementation of an Independent Monte Carlo Dose Calculation Quality Assurance Audit Took for Clinical Trails
Advisor: David Followill, PhD
Career Goal:  Clinical Practice, Research, Medical Physics Education
Xenia FaveXenia Fave
xjfave@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2011 Physics, Florida Institute of Technology

Project: 1st Year Student
Advisor: To Be Determined
Career Goal: Clinical/Academic Medical Physics
David FriedDavid Fried
dvfried@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2009 Applied Science – Biomedical Engineering, University of North Carolina

Project: 1st Year Student
Advisor: To Be Determined
Career Goal: Clinical/Academic Medical Physics
Ryan GrantRyan Grant
Ryan.Grant@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2007, Physics, University of Texas - Austin
M.S., 2010, Medical Physics, University of Texas HSC - Houston

Project: Quality Assurance of Advanced Treatment Modalities Using PRESAGE Dosimeters
Advisor: Geoffrey Ibbott, PhD
Career Goal:  Clinical practice, Research, Medical Physics Education
Jessie HuangJessie Huang
jyhuang@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2010, Physics, Rice University

Project: Convolution Superposition Dose Calculation Algorithm for Radiation Therapy Treatment Planning
Advisor:Stephen Kry, PhD
Career Goal: Clinical/Academic Medical Physics
William Scott Ingram
WSIngram@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2011, Physics, Johns Hopkins University

Project: To Be Determined
Advisor:  Laurence Edward Court, PhD
Career Goal: Clinical/Academic Medical Physics
Megan JacobsenMegan Jacobsen
mcjacobsen@mdanderson.org
B.A., 2011 Physics and Mathematics, Concordia College

Project: 1st Year Student
Advisor: To Be Determined
Career Goal: Clinical/Academic Medical Physics
James KernsJames Kerns
jrKerns@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2008 Physics/Engineering Point Loma Nazarene University
M.S., 2010 Medical Physics, University of Texas HSC- Houston

Project: 1st Year Student
Advisor: Stephen Kry, PhD
Career Goal: Clinical/Academic Medical Physics
Shane Krafft
spkrafft@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2008, Physics, University of Arizona
M.S. 2010, Physics, University of Arizona

Project: Understanding Spatial and Temporal Dynamics of Radiation Induced Lung Injury to Improve Prediction of Radiation Pneumonitis
Advisor:  Mary Martel, PhD
Career Goal: Clinical/Academic Medical Physics
Hannah LeeHannah Lee
hjlee1@mdanderson.org
B.A., 2012, Biology and Physics, Washington University

Project: 1st Year Student
Advisor: To Be Determined
Career Goal: Clinical/Academic Medical Physics
Tze Yee Lim
TLim@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2011, Physics, Drexel University

Project:   To Be Determined
Advisor:  Rajat Kudchadker, PhD 
Career Goal: Clinical/Academic Medical Practice
Christopher J. MacLellan
cjmaclellan@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2010, Physics, University of Massachusetts at Amherst

Project: Prediction of Laser Induced Heating of Multifunctional Magnetic Gold Nanoshells Using T2* Weighted Magnetic Resonance Imaging
Advisor:  R. Jason Stafford, PhD
Career Goal: Academic Medical Physics
Rachael Martin
RMMartin@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2011, Physics, Harvey Mudd University

Project: To Be Determined
Advisor:
Tinsu Pan, PhD 
Career Goal: Clinical Practice
Jason MatneyJason Matney
jematney@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2005, Physics, Ball State University
M.S., 2008, Physics, Louisiana State University - Baton Rouge

Project: Investigation of Motion Management Issues for Proton and Photon External Beam Radiotherapy in Lung Cancer
Advisor:
Radhe Mohan, PhD 
Career Goal: Clinical Practice
Justin Mikell
jmikell@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2002, Physics, University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign
B.S., 2002, Computer Science- University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign

Project: Internal Radionuclide Dose Calculation Using Deterministic Radiation Transport Methods
Advisor: S. Cheenu Kappadath, PhD
Career Goal: Research, Industry and Clinical Practice

Joshua Niedzielski
jsniedzieski@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2009, Astrophysics, Michigan State University
B.S., 2009, Mathematics, Michigan State University
B.S., 2010, Physics, Michigan State University

Project: Novel techniques to predict and quantify radiation injury in the esophagus for patients with NSCLC.
Advisor:  Laurence Edward Court, PhD
Career Goal: Clinical/Academic Medical Physics

Jessica Nute
jlnute@mdanderson.org
B.A., 2005, Physics, University of Virginia
M.S., 2009, Medical Physics, Duke University

Project: Metal Artifact Reduction in Dual Energy CT
Advisor: Dianna Cody, PhD
Career Goal: Clinical/Academic Medical Physics
Christopher Peeler
crpeeler@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2010, Physics, Louisiana State University - Baton Rouge

Project: Assessing the Potential Clinical Impact of Relative Biological Effectiveness-Weighted Dose Distributions in Proton Radiotherapy
Advisor:  Radhe Mohan, PhD
Career Goal: Academic Medical Physics
 Kiley Pulliam
kbpulliam@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2007, Physics, Centenary College of Louisiana 
M.S., 2011, Medical Physics, University of Texas HSC-Houston

Project: IMRT QA, TCP and NTCP Modeling
Advisor:
Stephen Kry, PhD
Career Goal: Clinical/Academic Medical Physics
Daniel Robertson
dgrobertson@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2008, Physics, Brigham Young University

Project: Computer Simulations of Detector Designs as well as Physical Measurements at the Proton Therapy Center
Advisor: Sam Beddar, PhD
Career Goal:  Academic Medical Physics
Ashley Rubinstein
AERubinstein@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2011, Physics, Boston University

Project: To Be Determined
Advisor:  Laurence Edward Court, PhD
Career Goal: Clinical Practice/Academic Medical Physics
Wendy Siman Wendy Siman
wsiman@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2008, Engineering Physics, University of Illinois-Urband-Champaign
M.S., 2009, Medical Physics, Columbia University

Project: 1st Year Student
Advisor: S.Cheenu Kappadath, PhD
Career Goal: Clinical/Academic Medical Physics
Daniel Smith
dlsmith2@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2010, Physics, University of Notre Dame

Project: B-cantenin Signaling Drives the Tumorigenicity and Radiation Resistance of Breast Cancer Stem Cells
Advisor:  Wendy Woodward, MD
Career Goal: Academic Medical Physics 
 

Angela Steinman
asteinmann@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2011 Stetson University
M.S., 2013, University of Michigan

Project: 1st Year Student
Advisor: Richard E. Wendt, III, PhD
Career Goal:

Jackie Tonigan
jrtonigan@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2009, Nuclear Engineering, University of New Mexico
M.S., 2011, Medical Physics, University of Texas HSC - Houston

Project:  To Be Determined
Advisor:  David Followill, PhD
Career Goal:  Clinical/Academic Physics
Christopher Walker
cmwalker@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2010, Physics, Trinity University

Project: Quantitative Imaging of Hyperpolarized MR Contrasts
Advisor:  Jim Bankson, PhD
Career Goal: Clinical/Academic Medical Physics
Landon Wootton  
lswoottonmdanderson.org
B.S., 2008, Physics, University of Texas - Austin

Project: A Real-Time In Vivo Scintillation Dosimeter for Clinical Use
Advisor: Sam Beddar, PhD
Career Goal: Clinical Practice
Adam Yock
adyock@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2008, Physics, Harvard University

Project:  Incorporating Population Based Anatomic Information Into Radiation Therapy Treatment Planning
Advisor: Laurence Edward Court, PhD
Career Goal: Clinical/Academic Medical Physics
Joshua Yung
jyung@mdanderson.org
B.S., 2005, Biomedical Engineering, Duke University 2005-2007
Imaging Research Technician, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Department of Imaging Physics

Project: Motion Correction for MRTI and Thermal Therapy 
Advisor: John D. Hazle, PhD
Career Goal: Industry Research and Development
 

© 2014 The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center