Skip to Content

Margaret L. Kripke Legend Award

For Promotion of Women in Cancer Medicine and Cancer Science

Jimmie Holland, M.D.

The 2015 Margaret L. Kripke Legend Award will be presented to:

Jimmie C. Holland, M.D.

Wayne E. Chapman Chair in Psychiatric Oncology
Memorial-Sloan Kettering Cancer Center

"The Silver Tsunami: An Approaching Crisis for Cancer Care"




Award Ceremony - OPEN TO ALL:
Monday, March 2, 2015, 4:00 - 5:15 pm (with reception to follow)
Cancer Prevention Building (CPB) 8th Floor
1155 Pressler Street, Houston, TX 77030

For questions, please contact:
Abby Mitchell, MBA, Project Director
Women Faculty Programs, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
P: 713-792-6142;


Prior Award Recipients

2014 Recipient:
Laurie Glimcher, M.D.
Dean, Weill Cornell Medical College
Provost, Medical Affairs of Cornell University

2013 Recipient:
Karen Antman, M.D.
Provost, Boston University Medical Campus
Dean, Boston University School of Medicine

2012 Recipient:
Nancy Hopkins, Ph.D.
Amgen, Inc. Professor of Biology
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2011 Recipient:
Edward J. Benz, Jr., M.D. (pdf)
President, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Director, Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center
Richard and Susan Smith Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Professor of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School
Professor of Pathology, Harvard Medical School

2010 Recipient:
Janet Rowley, M.D. (pdf)
Blum-Riese Distinguished Service Professor of Medicine, of Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology,
and of Human Genetics, Section of Hematology/Oncology
University of Chicago Medical Center

2009 Recipient:
Margaret Foti, Ph.D., M.D. (h.c.) (pdf)
CEO, American Association for Cancer Research

Dr. KripkeAbout Margaret L. Kripke

Margaret L. Kripke, Ph.D., is widely regarded as a trailblazer and role model for women in medical science, academia and executive leadership. She has supported and mentored countless colleagues, employees and trainees throughout her distinguished career. Dr. Kripke continues to serve on the MD Anderson Cancer Center faculty in a reduced-time capacity as special advisor to the provost.   More (pdf)

About the Margaret L. Kripke Legend Award

Women Faculty Programs at MD Anderson Cancer Center established this award in 2008 in honor of Margaret L. Kripke, Ph.D., for her unwavering advocacy for and promotion of women in academic medicine and science.

This national award will be given each year to an individual, male or female, for their ongoing sustained support and extraordinary dedication to enhancing the careers of women in cancer medicine and cancer science.

Candidates for the award will be considered by a committee of internal faculty and external members of the scientific community.

For questions, please contact:
Abby Mitchell, MBA
Project Director
P: 713.792.6142

© 2015 The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center